Us navy 5 star admirals

5.13    1,748 ratings    768 reviews
us navy 5 star admirals

The Admirals: Nimitz, Halsey, Leahy, and Kingthe Five-Star Admirals Who Won the War at Sea by Walter R. Borneman

How historys only five-star admirals triumphed in World War II and made the United States the worlds dominant sea power.

Only four men in American history have been promoted to the five-star rank of Admiral of the Fleet: William Leahy, Ernest King, Chester Nimitz, and William Halsey. These four men were the best and the brightest the navy produced, and together they led the U.S. navy to victory in World War II, establishing the United States as the worlds greatest fleet.

In THE ADMIRALS, award-winning historian Walter R. Borneman tells their story in full detail for the first time. Drawing upon journals, ship logs, and other primary sources, he brings an incredible historical moment to life, showing us how the four admirals revolutionized naval warfare forever with submarines and aircraft carriers, and how these men-who were both friends and rivals-worked together to ensure that the Axis fleets lay destroyed on the ocean floor at the end of World War II.
File Name: us navy 5 star
Size: 69591 Kb
Published 13.03.2019

US Military (All Branches) Officer Ranks Explained - What is an Officer?

Admiral of the Navy (United States)

As Chief of Naval Operations from to , he was the senior officer in the navy, overseeing the preparations for war. After retiring from the navy, he was appointed in by his close friend President Franklin D. Roosevelt as Governor of Puerto Rico. In his most controversial role, he served as the United States Ambassador to France 42, but had limited success in keeping the Vichy government free of German control. Roosevelt in and served in that position throughout World War II. He chaired the Chiefs of Staff and was a major decision-maker during the war.

The correct information is included in the text below. By act of Congress approved 14 December , the grade of Fleet Admiral, United States Navy, was established for certain officers on the active list of the Navy. Four officers were nominated by the president for that grade. With the advice and consent of the Congress, they were appointed by him and served in that grade until they died. All of these officers were personally and actively interested in the Naval Historical Foundation and contributed much to its growth.

A five-star rank is a very senior military rank , first established in the United States in , with a five-star general insignia, [1] and corresponding ranks in other countries. The rank is that of the most senior operational military commanders, and within NATO 's "standard rank scale" it is designated by the code OF Not all armed forces have such a rank, and in those that do the actual insignia of the "five-star ranks" may not contain five stars. Typically, five-star officers hold the rank of general of the army , admiral of the fleet , field marshal , marshal or general of the air force , and several other similarly named ranks. Five-star ranks are extremely seniorusually the highest ranks.


On October 25, , Benjamin O. Davis Sr.

Fleet admiral ranks immediately above admiral and is equivalent to General of the Army and General of the Air Force. Although it is a current and authorized rank, no U. Navy officer presently holds it, with the last U. Navy fleet admiral being Chester W. Nimitz , who died in David Farragut was the first admiral in the U. Navy and wore a variety of elaborate sleeve insignia to denote his rank and position.

In December of , in the midst of World War Two, the new Five-Star officer rank was created, allowing generals and admirals to place a total of five stars on their uniforms and flags. In all, four Army generals, four Navy admirals and one Air Force general have held this rank. George Washington holds the highest rank in U. By an act of Congress Joint Resolution of Congress, Public Law in , George Washington, was said to "have precedence over all other grades of the Army, past and present. After the Spanish -American War, and the complete destruction of the Spanish fleet by Admiral George Dewey, he was promoted to the special rank of Admiral of the Navy by an act of Congress in The date of his rank was retroactively set to Dewey is the only naval officer in American history to be given the rank of Admiral of the Navy.

Our network, websites and apps are information systems IS provided to you as a public service and managed by the United States Government. By accessing our IS including any device connected to this IS you are consenting to the terms and conditions found in our User Acceptance Policy. The information you provide us shall be used to respond and assist you with information you have requested from OAC. The five-star rank was first created on Dec. Four Army general officers were promoted to general of the Army that month.

2 thoughts on “The Admirals: Nimitz, Halsey, Leahy, and Kingthe Five-Star Admirals Who Won the War at Sea by Walter R. Borneman

  1. Even though the five-star general rank essentially died in with Omar Bradley, the idea of a five-star general rising above all others to command so much of the American and allied militaries is remarkably heroic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *